American Road Magazine
Celebrating our two-lane highways of yesteryear…And the joys of driving them today!

Happy Birthday, Dad

brownwho63

Today would have been Dad's 95th birthday. Although he didn't make it past the age of 69 due to heart problems, I still think about and miss him.

Dad was my hero and the smartest person I have ever personally known. He was the kind of guy who could build a rocket ship from a ball bearing, repair a hole in the atmosphere, and write a novel all in the same day. Realistically, Dad wore lots of hats including farmer, car salesman, auto mechanic, and minister. (Yeah, I'm a PK.) But he could fix anything and he always had just exactly the right advice whenever I asked.

He taught me to drive a car early on by letting me sit on his lap, steer the '41 Olds (or whatever), and shift the manual tranny with him pushing the clutch. I graduated to actual driving at about age 13, got an official permit and my very own '41 Olds coupe at 15 and have been cruisin' blue highways ever since. He taught me (insisted upon, actually) how to shoot a jump shot in 8th grade when other kids my age were still shooting "set" shots. He taught me how to throw a curve ball, swing a bat properly, and how to field a ground ball. He taught me how to drive a tractor, plow a field, and harvest the corn crop pulling a one-row corn picker. He fabricated copper gas line tubes to better feed the twin carbs on my '52 Vicky and created an electrical bypass switch for overdrive activation so that the old Ford could be put into overdrive mode as low as 5 miles per hour if desired. He insisted that I stay in college when I wanted to drop out and join the Army. We had several 3:00 AM discussions about me staying in college. I stayed - he was right - and I was, well, young. There's lots more but I've rambled on this OT subject long enough.

Happy Birthday, Dad....Bliss